May 23, 2024

CAF Awards 2023: Osimhen Battles Salah, Hakimi For Men’s Player Prize

1 min read
Spread the love

By Our Correspondent

Osimhen, Salah, Hakimi make CAF player of the year final shortlist


Nigeria forward Victor Osimhen has made the final three-man shortlist for the 2023 CAF Men’s Player of the Year.



CAF announced the final shortlist on its official X handle on Thursday.


Also up for the prestigious award are Morocco and Paris Saint-Germain defender Achraf Hakimi and Egypt and Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah.



Last year’s winner, Sadio Mane, failed to make the final shortlist.


Osimhen is the firm favourite to succeed the Senegalese.


The 24-year-old led Napoli to their first Serie A title in 33 years last season, scoring 26 goals.



The striker is looking to become the first Nigerian to win the award since Kanu Nwankwo was named the best player on the continent in 1999.


The winner will be revealed at the CAF Awards Gala on Monday, December 11, 2023, at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *