May 23, 2024

New Board Elected For Nasarawa State Football Association

4 min read
Spread the love


Usman Salisu Galadima popularly known as ‘Basira’ has emerged as Chairman of the Nasarawa State Football Association.

Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Barr. Haruna Favour Iliyasu, announced results of the election held at the Keffi Local Government Area Secretariat on Saturday, in the presence of two representatives from the Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, Dr. Rabiu Inuwa Ahlan(Chairman, Kano State Football Association cum Chairman, NFF Technical Committee) and Ali Abubakar Mohammed (Head, NFF Member Association cum Special Duties), stating that Usman Galadima polled a total of twelve(12) votes out of a possible eighteen (18) to beat his closest rival, Haliru Ibrahim, also known as ‘Zee’ who got four(4) votes, with two votes considered invalid due to additional and or surplus entries by the voters on the ballot sheets.

In the Vice Chairmanship position, Ibrahim Adamu Shigafarta garnered sixteen(16) votes against Aliyu Zanwa to emerge winner by the interpretation of the law that the latter candidate hails from the same Zone with the new Chairman.

The trio of Nuhu Abdulhamid, Ismaila Agah and Bashir Ibrahim were elected unopposed by virtue of the interpretation of the law from Akwanga Zone, whereas Nasir Na’Ali (11 votes) and Abubakar Gambo(13 votes) from Lafia Zone as well as Segun Akeusola(16 votes) and Matthew Dodo(14 votes) emerged victorious from Keffi Zone, respectively.

Barr. Abdullahi Bello of the Court of Appeal, Abuja, administered the Oath of Office to the new Board Members.

In his post-inauguration speech, the new Chairman said “It was a long journey whose end had come”, adding that “It’s a new dawn for football development in the State.”

While thanking those behind his victory at the poll, the former Management Member of Nasarawa United FC said he and his Board will hit the ground running, and would extend an olive hand to those who lost for the growth and development of football in the State.

Earlier, representative of the State Government and Permanent Secretary, Nasarawa State Ministry of Youth and Sports Development, Chief Barr. Isaac Danladi, congratulated the new Chairman and his Board as well as all the contestants for daring to try.

“The election was very peaceful. I congratulate all the winners and losers alike.

“They should both work together for the development of our football because the stage is large enough to accommodate everybody. However, I wish to admonish the new leadership to work as a team and carry other key stakeholders along.”

He commended the now dissolved Nasarawa State Football Normalisation Committee formerly headed by Hon. Aliyu Bello, for ensuring a free, fair and credible electoral process.

“In all honesty, what we have seen today deserves commendable. Winners have emerged and there are also losers.

“We reiterated our position as a Government that we don’t have any preferred candidate, and that we would work with anyone who emerges for the sake of developing football in the State.”

Representative of the Nigeria Football Federation’s President, Rabiu Inuwa Ahlan, who presented the Certificate of Return to the new Chairman congratulated him and his Board on the historic victory, commending the Normalisation Committee Members for delivering on the mandate assigned to them.

He explained that “The process was transparent, free from rancour and very successful.”

Ahlan disclosed that the leadership of the NFF would work together with the Nasarawa State Football Association to develop grassroots football and create opportunities for young talents to discover their full potentials.

Prior to the dissolution of the Normalisation Committee, Hon. Aliyu Bello had thanked the leadership of the NFF for finding him and other members of the Committee worthy to coordinate the process of electing new members into the Board of the Nasarawa State Football Association.

He also appreciated Governor Abdullahi Sule and the Nasarawa State Government for providing the right atmosphere for the Committee to carry out its duties successfully.

The former Normalisation Committee Chairman, opined that he and his Members would continue to lend necessary supports to the new leadership of the State FA to succeed.

Executive Chairman, Keffi Local Government Area, Hon. Mohammed Shehu-Baba, expressed gratitude to the Ibrahim Musa Gusau-led Board of the NFF for the choice of Keffi for the election.

He said it was the confidence reposed in him and the people of Keffi that fueled his passion to provide the best environment for the peaceful conduct of the election, adding that Keffi would continue to prove to the world why it is one of the best places to invest in.

The tenure of the Usman Salisu Galadima-led Nasarawa State Football Association’s Board is four years.

Other dignitaries present at the Election included Hon. Othman Bala Adam(,former Commissioner for Youth and Sports Development, Nasarawa State/Member of the defunct Normalisation Committee), Hon. Yarus Dagusa(Secretary, APC, Nasarawa State), Mustapha Sani Bello(Director, Technical, Nasarawa State Ministry of Youth and Sports Development), Turaki Gamji(Chairman, Nasarawa State Traders’ Association), representatives of the Nigeria Army, Nigeria Police Force, DSS, NAYES and Journalists.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *