July 21, 2024

CAF Awards: Asisat Oshoala and Chiamaka Nnadozie Make Final Shortlist

2 min read
Spread the love

By Sedara Philip

The Confederation of African football has announced the final shortlists for the women’s categories of the 2023 CAF Awards, with Asisat Oshoala and Chiamaka Nnadozie making the cut.


In the Player of the Year zone, the Barcelona striker will battle with her France-based compatriot, Zambia’s Barbara Babanda, and South Africa’s trio of Andile Dlamini, Hilda Magaia as well as Thembi Kgatlana for the individual accolade.


Others are Cameroon and Inter Milan star Ajara Njoya and the Morocco trio of Anissa Lahmari, Fatima Tagnaout, and Ghizalaine Chebbak who plays professional fooball at AS FAR.


Unfortunately, industrious Uchenna Kanu – who is among the breakout stars in the year under review – will have to wait till another time to fancy her chances of getting decorated as Africa’s best player.


It was a double delight for goalkeeper Nnadozie who headlines the Goalkeeper of the Year group. Although she is outstanding favourites to win, she must negotiate her way past Morocco duo of Imane Abdelahad and Khadija Er-Rmichi and South Africa’s Andile Dlamini plus Kaylin Swart.


Nigeria have two stars in the Young Player of the Year zone namely: Esther Ajakaye and Deborah Abiodun. Nonetheless, they face a stiff challenge in Ghana’s Comfort Yeboah, Morocco’s Nesryne El Chad and South Africa’s Thubelihle Shamase.



Super Falcons handler to the FIFA Women’s World Cup, Randy Waldrum wll challenge Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca), Reynald Pedros (Morocco), Desiree Ellis (South Africa) and Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns) for the Coach of the Year accolade.


Elsewhere, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa and Zambia will slug it out for the National Team of the Year award.


According to CAF, the winners of each category will be determined after the votes of a panel composed of the CAF Technical Commission, media professionals from Member Associations, head coaches and captains of Member Associations including clubs involved in the group stages interclub competitions.


The awards ceremony will take place on Monday, December 11, 2023, at the Palais des Congres Movenpick, in Morocco.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *