July 13, 2024

Jude Bellingham wins 2023 Golden Boy award

1 min read
Spread the love

By Sedara Philip


Real Madrid starlet Jude Bellingham has been confirmed as the winner of the 2023 Golden Boy award after an excellent spell for club and country. The youngster will receive his award on December 4th at a ceremony on Turin.


The Golden Boy is an annual award given by Italian media outlet Tuttosport to the best U-21 player in the world. The first recipient of the award was Rafael Van der Vaart in 2003.


Bellingham becomes the first Englishman to win the award since Raheem Sterling in 2014, and only the third overall after Manchester United legend Wayne Rooney.


The 20-year-old midfielder hit 14 goals and seven assists in 42 appearances for Borussia Dortmund last season, helping them finish a close second in Bundesliga.


Since joining Real Madrid for €103 million in the summer, Bellingham has taken his game to a new level. The midfielder has 13 goals and three assists in 14 appearances for Los Blancos this season, making him their most decisive player and highest goalscorer.


The England international succeeds Barcelona star Gavi as the winner of the award, with the Spaniard having received it in 2022. Bellingham also won the Kopa Trophy awarded by France Football for the best U-21 player in the world last month, and finished 18th in the voting for the 2023 Ballon d’Or.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *